home
older
about me
guestbook
host
prev | next

Can't think of a title.
26 February, 2007 * 9:12 am

I'm telling you what... there are some incredible athletes in the Special Olympics. Non and I volunteered at a basketball tournament on Saturday, and these athletes were amazing! They were quick, and talented, and worked so well as a team. There were even a couple of guys who dunked the ball to raucous cheers, deservedly, as well as some kick-ass 3-point shooters. The thing that I liked most, though? When one guy fell on the court, two guys pulled him back up - one from each team. At first I thought they must all know each other, but no... they just root for each other and enjoy playing the game. I was in charge of taking pictures, and I got a couple of good shots of inter-team sportmanship, which was just so damn neat. So, the verdict? The Special Olympics really are quite special, for many cool reasons.

Non is gone for a couple of days at the Junior High School Conference for the state. There, he and the rest of his team will be recognized at the Best Teaching Team in their Region, and I'm very proud of him. I'm not really sad I won't be there to see it, because really, it's a 2-day conference full of info that I don't really need to hear, with only one ceremony at which he will be honored. I sent the camera with him, so seeing the photos and hearing about it will be just as good. In the meantime, Missy and I spent the evening watching the Oscars (it went until 12:15 am here!) partly downstairs and partly from the comfort of my bed. It was a bit difficult to fall asleep without Non home - I'm lucky in that I have a husband who doesn't travel much at all for work, so I can't really complain. Having him gone for just 2 nights is a small price to pay for getting to live with him and sleep next to him the rest of the year.

I spent part of last night watching my stomach move. The bigger this kid gets the more I can physically see my stomach moving as she moves. Something about how little room she's got left in there, I guess. It's fun to see, and still pretty amazing, but I'll be honest and say I look forward to having my body back all to myself. Her movements are getting stronger, and they're starting to keep me up a bit, which is weird. 10 more weeks to go, though, which is still quite a bit of time. I *could* have this kid in 7 weeks and she would be fine - all developed and everything... anything longer than that and she is just growing... hopefully not TOO much. I don't want to be pushing out something the size of a thanksgiving turkey through what is usually the size of the small end of a turkey baster.


This is One Lazy Baby. - 09 May, 2007
Due Date: Yesterday - 07 May, 2007
Misery - 30 April, 2007
An Unlikely Pairing. - 18 April, 2007
And the Beat Goes on - 16 April, 2007

� design by near-sighted 2002

pregnancy week by week