home
older
about me
guestbook
host
prev | next

Weekend Wrap Up
31 October, 2005 * 11:29 am

I can't believe I'm about to say this, but I think I would like to be a stay-at-home person. Not mother at this point, but stay-at-home dog owner I could dig. This flies in the face of what I've always thought I would want. When someone describes themselves as a stay-at-home whatever, my instinct is to feel badly for them. My first thought is that they either relented their own interests to keep the house neat (which is sad) or they hadn't any intelligence in the first place to warrant even attempting to follow their own interests (which is also sad). Their whole identity is enveloped by .... what? Doing chores and running errands. I'm talking middle class people - not these richie rich bimbettes who's biggest concern is having their brazilian bikini wax conflict with their algae wrap.

But now, working from home and doing some of the house-y tasks throughout the day to break up the monotony of sitting at my desk, I see the beauty of choosing to stay at home. In fact, I think I could really get into it. I almost like doing things around the house (ALMOST, I said) like emptying the dishwasher and doing the laundry. If that's what my day would consist of - dishes, laundry, errands - I honestly think I would enjoy that. This is a revelation, people. Now, if this country would just double the salaries teachers make so Non's take home pay might begin to resemble reasonable compensation for all the work he puts in, I could get going on this new thing...

The Halloween party was great - mellow, fun, and alcoholic. Everyone dressed up to the hilt, and we had not one, not two, but THREE drink stations. Can't go wrong with that. There was some punch Non made, canned drinks outside in a bucket of ice, and a place for mixed drinks. My new friend in our city came with her husband, and I like her more and more each time I see her. She was dressed as a Geisha and her husband was a ninja. He had so much "armor" that he couldn't sit down all night, so he kinda huddled around the kitchen island talking to people. All in all, it was a success, and then we had two whole days left of the weekend! I like Friday night parties.

To celebrate Non's birthday, I'd bought us tickets to see the traveling Cirque du Soleil show, and it was worth every penny. Holy crap! That was impressive. There were several times during the night that I'd realize my mouth was hanging open. Crazy acrobatics and flying through the air and bending and jumping and landing perfectly. It was really good. I highly recommend going to see a show sometime if you have the chance.

Now for Monday....


This is One Lazy Baby. - 09 May, 2007
Due Date: Yesterday - 07 May, 2007
Misery - 30 April, 2007
An Unlikely Pairing. - 18 April, 2007
And the Beat Goes on - 16 April, 2007

� design by near-sighted 2002

pregnancy week by week