home
older
about me
guestbook
host
prev | next

Officially Promoted
17 February, 2003 * 12:39 pm

So, they offered me the job. And what's more -- I accepted. It's not only more responsibility, but I'll be learning about the business as a whole which will make me more marketable in the long run.

Not to mention, I get a raise.

My immediate supervisor pulled me aside this last Thursday morning and asked if I'd be interested in switching positions. I told her that, as a matter of fact, I WAS interested. They worked out the specifics, and my 90-day training period began that day. I got a raise from my receptionist pay for the training period, and after these 90 training days I'll get another raise (supposing the job and I get along well).

I'm excited. I'm happy. And, to be honest, I'm a little overwhelmed. I'd just gotten used to doing my "old" job, now there's all this new stuff to learn, to remember. I consider myself a fairly quick learner, but there's literally SO MUCH information being heaped upon me that I find myself having to ask questions muptiple times. It makes me feel kinda dumb, asking the same question over and over, but I should cut myself some slack. I'm a newbie to all this stuff -- it's okay to ask questions. In fact, it's expected. And really, how ELSE am I going to learn and, ultimately, understand it all?

So... yay me! A promotion after just nine weeks on the job. I was "Minired, the receptionist." Now, I'm "Minired, the assistant processor." And I feel extra lucky being in this position as a resident of the Bay area. So many people here are being laid off, and I not only find a good job at a good place, but I got a promotion to boot. I feel very fortunate.

There's a big part of me, though, that's afraid I'll get so caught up in learning this new trade that I'll slack on my long-held dreams and end up settling in an industry I never imagined getting into. An industry that, between you and me, doesn't excite me much save the satisfaction I get from doing a job well. In fact, when I think of the person I am and the industry I'm now in, I can't help but think, "this just doesn't fit."

But, then again, I have to do SOMETHING for income while I'm working on these scripts. Why NOT be an assistant processor? I may never be able to fully support myself doing what I love, but I doing think that's the point, necessarily. The point is, for me at least, to simply keep DOING it. I'm going to keep writing scripts not because I think they're going to turn into huge blockbuster movies and make me a millionaire someday (though, I'm not saying that wouldn't be nice), I'm going to keep writing scripts because... it's what I do. It's what I love. And no matter how much (or little) money I end up making off it, I'll revel in the process and celebrate every success, big or small.

And... the more new/quirky/weird/annoying things I experience at work, the more able I'll be to use in a new script -- stupid temps and all.


This is One Lazy Baby. - 09 May, 2007
Due Date: Yesterday - 07 May, 2007
Misery - 30 April, 2007
An Unlikely Pairing. - 18 April, 2007
And the Beat Goes on - 16 April, 2007

� design by near-sighted 2002

pregnancy week by week