home
older
about me
guestbook
host
prev | next

O Holy Lunch
27 August, 2002 * 1:48 pm

Two more days until Non is here. And, just to clarify, he isn't just a "non" anymore; he is, as my mom so cutely noted in a recent email, an "on". So, anyway. He'll be here on Thursday evening, and I couldn't be waiting more impatiently for his arrival.

I had a great lunch yesterday with a friend/ex-co-worker. Our friendship has such a nice feel to it -- we don't get together often, but when we do it's like slipping into your favorite sweater on a chilly day. Very comfortable and easy. At one point, my friend began a sentence but became tongue tied. He tried and tried to get out of it, but no matter how hard he tried, he just kept saying the same thing, "Did you just did...? Did you did...? Did you just di...?

Eventually, he collapsed into laughter over his mouth's inability to verbalize what his brain wanted to get out (no doubt the shared oreo cookie milkshake temporarily froze the necessary motor skills to utter the phrase), and we both fell into that hysterical kind of laughter that leaves your voice silent and your stomach clenched. My eyes were tearing up, and every time we looked at each other we'd start up again. I felt like I was an 8 years old again trying in vain to stifle my laughter at Mr. Hunt's obnoxiously nasal rendition of "O Holy Night" at the Christmas Eve Service. I haven't laughed like that in a long time.

Good lunch.


This is One Lazy Baby. - 09 May, 2007
Due Date: Yesterday - 07 May, 2007
Misery - 30 April, 2007
An Unlikely Pairing. - 18 April, 2007
And the Beat Goes on - 16 April, 2007

� design by near-sighted 2002

pregnancy week by week