home
older
about me
guestbook
host
prev | next

The intoxicating effect of Potato Salad
28 August, 2002 * 9:24 am

I don't know what it is, but I've been craving really bad-for-me food this entire week. If it isn't a Carl's Jr. cheeseburger it's Junior Mints. If it isn't pancakes with peanut butter and syrup it's Tollhouse Chocolate Chip Cookies. If it isn't creme brule' it's a carne asada burrito with loads of sour cream and guacamole.

I'm not sure what that's about.

I used to go through very strong cravings cycles. I would crave a certain food so strongly that I would simply HAVE to have it at least once a day. This would last anywhere from a few days up to two weeks. My cravings ranged from yummy fruits and vegetables such as strawberries and sugar snap peas to horribly fattening sweets like fudge-covered oreos and Abba Zabba candy bars. I think I may be entering into a new series of cravings as of late, beginning with potato salad.

I've eaten at least a few bites of potato salad daily for the last 5 days. What IS that? I mean, potato salad? Is my body lacking some enzyme that's only found in the pre-made tubs of potato salad they sell at the market? I hope I'll be done with the potato salad craving soon. It's actually kinda gross if you think about it. I mean, having potato salad twice a year at church potlucks or family barbeques is one thing... THIS is quite another. It's like I'm a potato salad addict. Potato salad has made me its bitch.

In anticipation of Non's visit, I decided to give my bathroom a thorough cleaning last night. The thing is, the apartment I live in isn't new. And neither is my shower. So, no matter how hard I scrub, no matter how many chemicals I use, it's never going to LOOK new again.

But, of course, I didn't realize this until I had been cleaning long enough to begin to feel light-headed -- a cup of bleach in one hand and an old toothbrush in the other. I did, however, clean the hell out of that tile grout. Backstory: A few months ago I dyed my hair red. I mean red, as in fire-engine red. As in candy-apple red. As in RED. And my tile grout has been pink ever since. No more, my friends, no more. Non probably won't notice how clean it is because he didn't see the BEFORE view. But I'll know, and you can guarantee I'll point it out to him and demand he appreciate all the brain cells that were sacrificed in the name of cleanliness.

By the way, he'll be here in just 33 hours. And that's 33 hours too long.

Addendum: Thanks to my Mom for making sure I didn't spell potato with an "e".


This is One Lazy Baby. - 09 May, 2007
Due Date: Yesterday - 07 May, 2007
Misery - 30 April, 2007
An Unlikely Pairing. - 18 April, 2007
And the Beat Goes on - 16 April, 2007

� design by near-sighted 2002

pregnancy week by week