home
older
about me
guestbook
host
prev | next

As much as I'd love a trip to Hawaii...
07 March, 2007 * 10:30 am

So this third trimester thing? Not so much fun these days. The hip pain is starting to creep into the daytime as well as the nighttime, and I still have that pubic pain when I move, but not when I sit or rest. Add to that just general bigness and more difficulty putting on socks and shoes, and I could do a lot of complaining if I wanted. However, this is all offset by the fact that HELLO! A new baby is coming in less than 2 months! And this pregnancy has otherwise been pretty damn good to me AND we got pregnant in the first place. I need to remind myself of all these positive, wonderful things because it's easy for me to wallow in the discomfort sometimes. Not nice of me, but the truth.

Non's mom is turning 60 this year, and she wants to have the family fly to Hawaii for a week to celebrate. Sounds great, no? Well, seeing as the dates she picked are less than a month after I'm supposed to return to work from maternity leave, the timing isn't great for me. Also? From the WEST coast, Hawaii is a good 6-hour flight. It would take us at least 5 hours to even GET to the west coast, which would make it a minimum 11 hours of flying. Ick. That's not gonna be fun for anyone flying coach, but with a 3-month-old baby? *Shudder* I hate not to be there for her birthday, but I just don't see how we could swing it geographically or financially. Non's sister suggested we just come out to CA for a weekend to see her before they leave for Hawaii, which is definitely an alternative, but it seems like an expensive and tedious one for just a weekend. Maybe I'm too freaked out about traveling with a baby, but I'm worried enough over just taking care of this kid AT HOME, let alone in an airplane.

Perhaps we could make a video to send along on their trip? I dunno... is that corny? I'd love to be acknowledge her birthday in some way that's a bit special. I'm taking suggestions, people...


This is One Lazy Baby. - 09 May, 2007
Due Date: Yesterday - 07 May, 2007
Misery - 30 April, 2007
An Unlikely Pairing. - 18 April, 2007
And the Beat Goes on - 16 April, 2007

� design by near-sighted 2002

pregnancy week by week