home
older
about me
guestbook
host
prev | next

Sorry, no penis.
21 December, 2006 * 8:43 am

My trip to San Francisco last week was a quick but good one. My time was planned down to each minute, but I got to see some family and friends, not to mention eat at the noodle house we used to go to when we lived out there. I'd been craving their curry duck soup since I got pregnant, and it was the first place I went - straight from the airport.

Just a few days after I got back home, Non and I went to the OB and saw the kid for the first time via ultrasound. We were convinvced we had a boy in here, but the very first thing we were shown was what are apparently girl parts. She was moving around and opening her little mouth during the scan, and all the measurements they took to determine whether or not the baby is growing properly and the checks for certain complications (like Downs Syndrome, and some heart conditions) came out normal. The only surprise they found (other than no penis) is that I have a small fibroid in my uterus. They said this isn't uncommon, but they want to watch it over the course of the rest of the pregnancy to make sure it doesn't interfere with the development of the kid.

So, all in all, it was an amazing day. I couldn't help but cry (of course), and Non came away from the experience wanting an ultrasound machine (tech geek that he is).

At 20 weeks along in this pregnancy (offically half way!), I'm feeling comfortably situated in the second trimester, so when the remedy I have for my morning sickness ran out on Friday, I decided I probably didn't need to get any more. WRONG. By Sunday evening I was vomiting so violently that I felt as if I'd be run over. Repeatedly. I finally came to my senses and bought enough B6 and Unisom to take me through the end of next year, and I vowed not to stop taking it until this kid is out of me. Thankfully, my doctor said it was perfectly safe to continue taking throughout the pregnancy because at this point it's the only thing that makes life worth living.

In the past two days I've been a baking machine. I've made four kinds of treats - fudge, sugar cookies, snickerdoodles, and good ol' chocolate chip cookies. We're giving away lots of boxes of cookies, so the sheer amount of cookies has been staggering. I just have to finish icing the last of the sugar cookies today, pack them up, and give them out. Hopefully, I can do this without "sampling" too many of them.


This is One Lazy Baby. - 09 May, 2007
Due Date: Yesterday - 07 May, 2007
Misery - 30 April, 2007
An Unlikely Pairing. - 18 April, 2007
And the Beat Goes on - 16 April, 2007

� design by near-sighted 2002

pregnancy week by week