home
older
about me
guestbook
host
prev | next

Something Else
04 October, 2006 * 3:02 pm

As I mentioned at the end of my last entry, Non does not have gallstones, which is good. His doctor called today to tell him his blood work came back and showed that he has some kind of bacterial infection instead. Fairly common, or so they told us, and he'll be on antibiotics for 14 days. It's great to have an actual diagnosis - nothing worse than a doctor who throws up his hands and shrugs - but the doctor also said stress is a big irritant, and that Non should seriously examine his schedule and cut out things that are causing him stress. Apparently, if gone undetected, this bacteria can eat a hole in the lining of your stomach, also known as an ulcer.

So, we will have a nice, relaxing, stress-free evening. And tacos. I'm craving tacos and got all the fixin's at the store this afternoon.

Speaking of cravings, I definitely am getting them. Unfortunately, I never seem to crave healthy foods. I so desperately want to feel good that I'll try anything that sounds good, even for a few minutes. Spaghetti with marinara sauce has been a repeat offender, as has Taco Bell and mexican food in general (hence, the taco dinner). My regular pants are getting tight, and though I barf about once a day, I'm sure I'm not losing, but even gaining, weight.

The nausea is pretty miserable - it wakes me up in the middle of the night - but there is something oddly reassuring about it. Every day I wake up and still feel bad, I know the fetus is still in there, which is good. My OB recommended a combo of vitamin B6 and the over the counter sleeping pill, Unisom. Apparently, together it is a medication called Bendectin which was a popular nausea medication a few decades ago until a woman with a handicapped child said she had taken it and there was a big uproar about Bendectin causing birth defects. That has been proven over and over NOT to be the case, but they still no longer make the stuff, so I can make my own by taking B6 three times a day and Unisom at night. Here's hoping!

In other news, our dog's naked rear and hind leg is beginning to fill in with new hair after being shaved for her latest TPLO surgery. She seems to be recovering fine, and she is getting completely spoiled by me, and she knows it. Her days are spent lounging on the couch in my office, gnawing on the parade of cow femurs I'm buying her, and staring out the window at the neighborhood, occasionally barking at someone or something that catches her eye.


This is One Lazy Baby. - 09 May, 2007
Due Date: Yesterday - 07 May, 2007
Misery - 30 April, 2007
An Unlikely Pairing. - 18 April, 2007
And the Beat Goes on - 16 April, 2007

� design by near-sighted 2002

pregnancy week by week