home
older
about me
guestbook
host
prev | next

Tuesday.
22 August, 2006 * 12:28 pm

So, I haven't said anything official here until now, but after years of contemplation, questions and answers, more questions, and quite a bit of hands on experience, I've decided to convert to Judaism. I love the rich tradition and heritage associated with the religion as well as the symbolism and tangibility of the holidays. When Non and I moved to the east coast, I told him I wanted to take a year and experience every Jewish holiday on the calendar, to essentially experience what practicing Judaism would be like before I made such a big decision. With each passing event, I felt more and more connected to God through the practicing of these traditions and holidays. So here I am now, enrolled in the conversion class at our local reform synagogue.

It's quite a diverse group of individuals - from Lori, the cute southern belle to Nikki, married 40 years to a Jewish man and just now making the decision to convert herself, to Mika, a gentleman in his 60's who plans to move to Israel after his conversion ceremony. I'm just one of the 30 or so people in the class, which lasts between 12-18 months, depending on your individual comfort and readiness. I've only been attending classes for a month now, but I've learned quite a bit already.

In other news, in the past few days we've noticed our dog, Missy, is beginning to favor her left leg. You may recall we had her right leg operated on earlier this year and the surgeon said in 50% of the cases, the other leg has to be done eventually as well, but I was hoping to be on the other side of the percentage, or at least to have a good year or two between surgeries. But I'm getting ahead of myself. Maybe it's not that at all - maybe she's just got a thorn in her paw. Who knows? She's going to the vet on Thursday, and we'll know more then.

The school buses are running again this week. I had just gotten used to it being full-blown summer, and now the summer is limping to its end. With the heat and humidity, I say so long summer! Welcome back autumn.


This is One Lazy Baby. - 09 May, 2007
Due Date: Yesterday - 07 May, 2007
Misery - 30 April, 2007
An Unlikely Pairing. - 18 April, 2007
And the Beat Goes on - 16 April, 2007

� design by near-sighted 2002

pregnancy week by week