home
older
about me
guestbook
host
prev | next

Showtime.
14 April, 2006 * 11:15 am

So, technically, Passover is done. Finito. But we decided to extend it for another 24 hours (into the Sabbath) and throw a Passover Seder at our house tonight. There will be 12 attenders, including me and Non, and we've been doing virtually nothing but prepare for it for the past several days. Last night I did a trial run making homemade matzah ball soup (with homemade soup stock and everything!), and it wasn't bad at all. Today I'll put in a bit more salt and pepper in there, because that soup can be bland, my friends. But I'm happy to say the matzah balls, while not all exactly round, came out very well.

I've been shirking my responsibilities at work for the past several days because I've enjoyed being preoccupied with the seder preparations. I've also taken several walks, done some vacuuming, mopping, laundry, and dishes, and now I'm washing the new tablecloths. I'm most excited to set the table for the seder. I never realized how these sorts of things could give me joy, but people, I'm loving it. I've also realized that I'm a stickler for symmetry. We are short two place settings, so did I borrow two settings from a friend? NO. I borrowed 6 places settings so I can alternate between the two different types of dishes and keep the symmetry going. Same with the wine glasses. And the silverware. And the napkins.

I really wish I didn't have to work at all today because I'd much rather futz over every minimal detail of the seder, but honestly, that's probably not totally healthy.


This is One Lazy Baby. - 09 May, 2007
Due Date: Yesterday - 07 May, 2007
Misery - 30 April, 2007
An Unlikely Pairing. - 18 April, 2007
And the Beat Goes on - 16 April, 2007

� design by near-sighted 2002

pregnancy week by week