home
older
about me
guestbook
host
prev | next

The Trip that Wasn't.
03 January, 2006 * 12:45 pm

Sorry Asheville... we'll have to see you next time around. Our annual weekend away for the new year was cut short this year. Less than 12 hours into our stay (a good 8 hours of that was spent asleep), the couple whose parents house we were staying at took their 8-month-old to the local clinic for a lingering cough only to find out she had croup. I had just finished my french toast breakfast when we learned we had to pack up and go home. On our way back we did stop in town to walk around a bit and visit the New Morning Gallery. We drooled over many pieces, considered buying two of them, but only left with one when all was said and done. Non and I tried to take a short cut to get us back to the main highway, but we neglecting to remember that we were in the mountains, and any short cut would take us up and down winding roads which make both of us car sick. Thankfully, we had the Memoirs of a Geisha audio book. We focused on listening instead of being nauseous and finally got back to the straight and not-so-narrow freeway. Three hours later (nice short cut) we were home.

I was grouchy and cranky all New Years Eve, and on top of it all, when we got home I couldn't find my birth control pills and thought I had left them in Asheville (later, Non found them among his folded pairs of underwear). So, after a two-hour belated get-together at the croup friends' house, we went home around 11:00 and I spent the 55 minutes fretting over the birth control pills and, moreso, my unwanted forgetfulness and general klutziness. Non spent that time staring at me in awed confusion over why I was making a big deal about it, and finally I came around just in time to regain relative normalcy when the ball dropped. I made Non change the channel just seconds after the drop, not because of the gratuitous shots of couples kissing in Times Square, but because of how sad Dick Clark sounded on air. Non and I kissed and hugged and cursed ourselves for not keeping condoms on hand for this such occasion (we'd not found the pills yet) before settling for falling asleep in each other's arms.


This is One Lazy Baby. - 09 May, 2007
Due Date: Yesterday - 07 May, 2007
Misery - 30 April, 2007
An Unlikely Pairing. - 18 April, 2007
And the Beat Goes on - 16 April, 2007

� design by near-sighted 2002

pregnancy week by week