home
older
about me
guestbook
host
prev | next

Lovely Morning
21 November, 2005 * 9:38 am

I'm having such a lovely morning. It's cold and rainy outside, but I'm inside on a comfy couch sipping yummy peppermint-flavored coffee and watching a log burn in the fireplace while the dogs lay at my feet. Very nice indeed.

This weekend was fairly eventful. We're dog sitting for a friend, so there was some doggie jealously going on on Saturday. The two finally sorted it out, or so it seems, and can't stop sticking their tongues in each other's mouths and noses in each other's butts. I don't think we should get another dog - the one is good. At least she can't stick her tongue in her own butt. 98% of the time they're getting along just fine, but my dog still is a bit jealous, I think. When I let them out to pee this morning, she waited until the other dog peed, then she went right over and peed on the same exact spot. She's essentially saying, "um, no, that's MINE, actually."

Our dog is a ripe 5 years of age, so she's not terribly active, which is what I'm used to. This other dog, however, just turned a year old, and she is constantly at my side with some slimy chew toy she wants me to play with or a tennis ball she shoves at me to throw for her to retrieve. I'm fine doing this to a point, but she never seems to tire! She woke me up at midnight to go pee, then again at 4:00 am just to play. This woke up my dog, too, who got all riled up, and I ended up shutting them both out of the bedroom. I could still hear them in the hallway, so I got back up, led them downstairs, and blocked the stairs with a couple of chairs. I swear - it's like having toddlers (well, not really I'm sure, but it's SOMETHING like having toddlers)! Except toddlers sleep through the night (don't they?)

Yesterday Non and I drove about 300 miles round trip for two reasons: we bought a dining set from a guy off craigslist, and Jason had an interview for a summer camp director position in Raleigh. The job would be in Charlotte, but the head office is in Raleigh, and since we were there in the general area picking up the table, he met with the people at "Explore!". Non had an hour-long interview for this Camp Director job. It's a camp for gifted kids, and it's right up his alley. I'm pretty sure they're going to offer him the job, and he really wants to take it. It would be good for his experience and resume, not to mention the guy he interviewed with flat out told him there was room for advancement in their company (always nice to have options). Plus the extra money will, of course, come in handy. We were both pleasantly surprised at the substantial quality of the dining set - it's a table and eight chairs for $350. We're going to refinish what is now light wood with a very dark stain in time for Christmas. It fits perfectly in our dining room, and we both think it was a pretty damn good deal.

By the time we got home last night, we were both exhausted. We had a neighbor girl come to check in on the pooches a couple of times during the day, and she wrote the cutest note about how good they were. We'll have to use her again. Oh! And BIG news -- no accidents from our dog! Her percentage of accidents to no accidents while we're gone is rapidly rising. This is a very good thing. Another very good thing? This is a 3-day week! I'm actually excited to start work today because the sooner I start the sooner I'll get to Thanksgiving with time off from work and time with my sister, bro-in-law, and nephew. No more squeezing the five of us around our tiny kitchen table for Thanksgiving, either.


This is One Lazy Baby. - 09 May, 2007
Due Date: Yesterday - 07 May, 2007
Misery - 30 April, 2007
An Unlikely Pairing. - 18 April, 2007
And the Beat Goes on - 16 April, 2007

� design by near-sighted 2002

pregnancy week by week