home
older
about me
guestbook
host
prev | next

I'll take fries with that
14 October, 2005 * 11:28 am

If ever I needed a Friday, it's today - so it's convenient that it, in fact, IS a Friday. It will be better once it's Friday night, but I can wait.

We're trying some new medication on our dog who has a bad leg. It's not so bad that she doesn't use it, but she favors it. The doctor says she has arthritis and a partial ACL tear, and he wanted to do surgery. We took her down there, she spent the night, then they bumped her from the surgery rotation because they had, apparently, an enormous amount of emergencies to contend with. They called and said to come pick her up, and I thought, "you mean she just stayed the night in a new, potentially unwelcoming and scary place for NUTHIN?" That sucks. We've only had her for 3 months, and I'm still sensitive about leaving her by herself at all, let alone in a different place. When we picked her up later that day, she looked at us and said, "what the hell was that about?"

It was suggested to us to call and reschedule for the following week, and in the meantime I began doing a little research on that particular surgery - I found more horrific stories than positive ones which made me so sad at the thought of our sweet pooch being in 10x the pain she's already in. So, more research for alternative medication/therapy, and whallah - we began the new treatment earlier this week. We'll see how she fares, but I'm hoping this will do the trick.

This weekend should be a good one - we're going to try and paint our living room on Saturday, then that evening we're having dinner with some friends. Sunday we're taking the dog to get her toenails clipped, as she's beginning to rival Howard Hughes, and we're going to have them painted. I know - what could be more ridiculous, which is exactly why we're doing it. The biggest thing is that Non is building a sukkah, and my sister and the fam are coming down on Sunday to hang out in it and probably eat and drink a lot (as we are wont to do). Pretty full weekend, but I'm up for one of those.

Getting geared up for nanowrimo - only two-ish weeks left! I had an idea for what I wanted to write about, but just a couple of days ago something new popped into my mind and I might end up going with that instead. This would be a challenge for me because it's not the typical sort of writing I do, and maybe that's a good thing. It could come out really interesting and cool, or just plain cheesy, so I'm nervous about trying it. No cheese, please, but I'll take fries with that.


This is One Lazy Baby. - 09 May, 2007
Due Date: Yesterday - 07 May, 2007
Misery - 30 April, 2007
An Unlikely Pairing. - 18 April, 2007
And the Beat Goes on - 16 April, 2007

� design by near-sighted 2002

pregnancy week by week