home
older
about me
guestbook
host
prev | next

Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes
10 October, 2005 * 1:06 pm

We're here. North Carolina. In a house that we bought with our own money (well, it was Wells Fargo's money, but we get the priveledge of paying it back and then some over the next 30 years. Ah, the american dream - to be perpetually in debt.

We've been here for just over 3 months now, and we're adjusting well. Non really likes his new school and the students he's teaching this year. He's teaching Social Studies to sixth graders, and he's also the Head Football Coach for the seventh grade team. For the piddly amount of extra money he earns compared to the enormous amount of energy he is ending up devoting to the team, he's decided one coaching year will be enough.

Work for me is going well - the company I was working for in California offered to keep me on as their first remote employee. I know, it totally rocks. So, I work from home now,but they really set me up - new computer, modem, fax machine, office phone (I even still have my regular extension), and they're paying for my DSL service. After having spent a few months now working from home (albeit still for the same company) I don't think I could go back to an office environment. This is a sweet deal!

The other big news is - we have a new member of the family. Welcome Missy, our dog, whom we adopted in the lobby of the Humane Society (we were walking out as the lady giving Missy up was walking in). 20 minutes later, she was in our car with us on the way to her new home. She is a boxer/bulldog mix - think of a boxer, then make it double the width and cream colored with brown spots, and you've got Missy. She looks pretty scary when a stranger comes near - she likes to bark at them and bear her teeth, but as soon as they come up to her, she'll only sniff you to death. She may look menacing, but she's 87 pounds of love.

Other than that, no big news. It's been nice to have my sister so close (90 minutes away), but due to our laziness we've only seen her and the fam twice since we arrived here. Aw well, there is more time to make up for it. In fact, they might be coming out to visit us this weekend for Sukkoth, which would be fun.

All in all - everything's good, minus, of course, my extraordinary laziness at keeping up my diary. I offer no promises of daily or weekly updates, but perhaps I'll get myself in a diarlyland groove again. Here's hopin!


This is One Lazy Baby. - 09 May, 2007
Due Date: Yesterday - 07 May, 2007
Misery - 30 April, 2007
An Unlikely Pairing. - 18 April, 2007
And the Beat Goes on - 16 April, 2007

� design by near-sighted 2002

pregnancy week by week