home
older
about me
guestbook
host
prev | next

I'm baaack. And there's less of me... well, sort of.
08 February, 2005 * 2:23 pm

I wore my new rabbit's foot necklace today - the one about which Non said incredulously, "You bought THAT for $10?" - and I'm having fun with it. It basically looks like a normal silver chained necklace, but instead of a charm or little pendant dangling from the chain, there are two furry, black rabbit feet looking things. Kinda weird, I'll admit, but they're cute and furry and they fall right into the top divet of my cleavage. Everybody wins.

I got my hair cut off a week ago, and I'm loving the new short hair. I've had long hair for ages, and I'm amazed that I didn't get it chopped off sooner. I thought I would like the new do, but secretly pine for the hair I once had. But there's been none of that. Just short, poofy, curly, red hair. My mom gave it a thumbs up via the photo I emailed her - she didn't even say that I needed shape, so, all's good.

I'm writing a novel. In 30 days. I ran into this website, nanowrimo.org. It's all about this guy in Oakland who wanted to write a book, but found that he had trouble finishing anything because he kept going back to edit what he'd already written. He came up with the idea of a deadline, a really crazy-ass deadline, which wouldn't give him time to edit what he'd already written. In fact, it didn't even give him time to READ what he'd written because he decided to write 50,000 words (roughly 200 pages) in 30 days. Thus, the National Novel Writing Month was born. It's been 5 years since its inception, and they do it via the website every November, but I didn't want to wait until November to do it, so I chose my own 30 days and started almost 2 weeks ago. Dividing 50,000 words by 30 days is about 1667 words a day, and so far (as I smack the nearest wood-like product in reach) I'm current with my daily word count. I'm at 20,074 words as of last night, and I'll admit Week 2 is going at a much more sluggish pace than Week 1 did. I'm hoping at Week 3 I have a new resurgence of ideas. I'm writing a little chicklit book about a gal who leaves the big city to move to a small town and open a tattoo shop. Keep your fingers crossed, peeps, that I can finish it.

Things are still set for the big move across the country in about 4 months. I keep expecting the months preceeding the move to go by terribly slowly - I remember they did last year - but so far I've blinked maybe twice and we're already a week into February. What's the DEAL? I still have so much to research - moving costs, real estate loans, the job market, real estate taxes, et al. My plan is to finish this novel THEN jump on everything else.

Oh! AND I need to update my diary, which I just did. I love when I can cross things off my to do list....


This is One Lazy Baby. - 09 May, 2007
Due Date: Yesterday - 07 May, 2007
Misery - 30 April, 2007
An Unlikely Pairing. - 18 April, 2007
And the Beat Goes on - 16 April, 2007

� design by near-sighted 2002

pregnancy week by week