home
older
about me
guestbook
host
prev | next

I Defect.
03 September, 2004 * 6:00 pm

I can no longer ignore the pet peeve that has recently been plaguing me: bad spelling. This is even worse than bad grammar. I can't tell you how many people in the world are spelling impaired. In my office, I consider most of my co-workers to be fairly intelligent people, but I constantly find words mercilessly butchered in our database and in memos. This would be understandable if it happened every once in a while, but it happens multiple times each day. Recently, the marketing girl changed all our email signatures to reflect an award we'd been given. We were given the Bay Area's Family Favorites award. It wasn't until later that day as I was sending an email that I noticed my signature: "Minired, Company Name, voted one of the Bay Area's Family Favorite's." (Granted, that is bad grammar and not bad spelling, but I did note in the beginning that was a peeve of mine, too.) Is this the norm? I mean, I'm guilty of a misspelled word on occasion, but my instinct is to see the word and think, "that doesn't look right," and spell check it at the very least. Am I in the minority there? Apparently I am within my office.

But, misspelling aside, it's been a tough week. Non and I made a decision about where we're moving next summer, and it's not near my family. They were none to happy to hear the news. The city we visited that's all the way across the country was where we both instantly felt good. We both had this overwhelming, "this is the place" feeling, and I've been agonizing over that ever since our visit. I want my family to know I'm not rejecting them, I'm simply rejecting their geography. And believe me, I'm as surprised as they are at the city we chose. I've been a west coast gal all my life, and I never thought I'd defect to the east coast. But, defect I will come next July.

In other news, it the weekend! And it's a long weekend!! Very happy about that. During the week, I kept forgetting that we'd be having a 3-day weekend. When it did flash back into my consciousness, it was a wonderful jolt of excitement like when you get a gift you really like. It's the gift of an extra (paid) day off. Jeanne likey.

P.S. I'm suddenly paranoid that I've misspelled a word or two in this entry; thus, voluntarily mocking myself.


This is One Lazy Baby. - 09 May, 2007
Due Date: Yesterday - 07 May, 2007
Misery - 30 April, 2007
An Unlikely Pairing. - 18 April, 2007
And the Beat Goes on - 16 April, 2007

� design by near-sighted 2002

pregnancy week by week