home
older
about me
guestbook
host
prev | next

I'll Fight Ya For It.
25 May, 2004 * 8:46 am

This weekend turned into a lot of work. Non was working on the river rafting trip we'll be taking with the high schoolers from his temple this coming weekend, and he worked lots on his grad school assignments. I ended up doing a lot of house work -- I cleaned the place (which was way overdue), and I went through piles of jewelry and makeup, sorting and sifting as I went. All in all, the weekend felt good. Not in a relaxing and restful sort of way, but in an accomplished and cleansed sort of way.

I must say, I do look forward to Non finishing grad school. He'll be done with classes at the end of June, then he'll do some student teaching (he's getting a masters in a subject he doesn't currently teach, hence, the student teaching requirement) and whallah! He'll also be done with his second job at the temple at the end of June which will free up more of his weekends. I'll be so happy for him not to feel stressed and busy all the time, and selfishly, I'm looking forward to having more time to be newlyweds and do newlywed-y things.

Work is still impossibly slow. Today, the receptionist took the day off, and we all practically fought over who got to be downstairs to cover for her. I won the morning shift, and I'm very happy about it. There is a possible job opportunity that I'm up for in the area, and I'm trying not to get my hopes up in case it falls through, but truthfully, all I've been doing the past few days is daydreaming about giving my current supervisor a letter of resignation. That's probably not helping with the not getting my hopes up goal, but it's been getting me through the long, boring days here.

So, what is it with my family and ticks? You may have read my sister's diary and learned that she recently found a tick on her person which gave her the Rocky Mountain Spotted Fever. Well, yesterday morning, Non called to me from the bathroom, pointed to a small brown oval sticking out of him and said, "what is that"? Yup, you guessed it... a tick. We live in the Bay area -- where in the world did this tick come from? We weren't exactly sure what to do, except we knew we didn't want to pull it out by hand, so I called my brother-in-law, Francisco, and he told us the smother-it-with-vaseline technique. When that didn't work, I called him again. We ended up yanking it out with a pair of tweezers (which I've now learned is better that pulling it out with your fingers, but not by much), and we think we got it all. Just in case, Jason called the Advice Nurse and we're keeping an eye on the area. But, really. A tick? I gotta say, those are pretty damn gross.

I can't believe I've only been at work for 30 minutes. Oh, the drudgery.


This is One Lazy Baby. - 09 May, 2007
Due Date: Yesterday - 07 May, 2007
Misery - 30 April, 2007
An Unlikely Pairing. - 18 April, 2007
And the Beat Goes on - 16 April, 2007

� design by near-sighted 2002

pregnancy week by week