home
older
about me
guestbook
host
prev | next

Go Fish.
17 May, 2004 * 2:56 pm

A few minutes ago, I was in the bathroom here at work, having done my duty and flushed, when, as I was zipping up and straightening myself out, I heard a *PLOP*. I turned to the toilet bowl (for that is the only thing that could've produced a plopping sound), and laying at the bottom of the tank was my poor, innocent cell phone.

Even though I saw it there and I knew what it was, the first thing I did was force my hand into my pocket where my cell phone had been to confirm that, yes, indeed this was MY cell phone. I wasn't gonna root around no toilet -- flushed or not -- for anyone else's phone. Then, a few seconds later, when I realized it's "get it out now" or "leave it for dead", I plunged my arm into the bowl (water up to my forearm) and fished out my soggy phone.

My next instinct was to take it to the sink and wash it off. While this is a good and correct instinct for many items that have just been fished out of a toilet, a cell phone isn't one of them. Now, my sad little phone lies here on my desk in two little piles trying to dry itself enough to continue working. Last I checked it wasn't doing so well.

So, let that be a lesson to you, people. Be aware of handheld electronic devices at all times while near or above water in any sort of receptacle. Especially a toilet. Ick.


This is One Lazy Baby. - 09 May, 2007
Due Date: Yesterday - 07 May, 2007
Misery - 30 April, 2007
An Unlikely Pairing. - 18 April, 2007
And the Beat Goes on - 16 April, 2007

� design by near-sighted 2002

pregnancy week by week