home
older
about me
guestbook
host
prev | next

Mmm... Curry.
16 May, 2004 * 10:25 am

I must say, I feel much less logey than I expected to feel by now. I love weekends mostly because of the luxury of sleeping in, but this weekend, I've gotten up before 7:00 each day. I thought I'd be grumbly and sleepy and in a foul mood because of the non-sleeping in, but I'm surpised and happy to report that I actually feel good and accomplished, and I'm amazed at how much more time is left in the day.

Yesterday, I got up early to go the DMV. I can't go during lunch, and I tried to make an appointment, but they were booked for months out. Then I found a DMV a few towns over that has Saturday hours every third Saturday of the month. Hence, my getting up early yesterday. I needed to go to the DMV to change my name. If you've never done this, then you don't know the time and energy it consumes -- not to mention the emotional roller coaster it sends you on. I mean, I've had this name for 30 years... I'm pretty attached to it. But, I made the decision early on that I wanted to take Non's name, so off to the DMV I went. Afterwards, I went to the bank and changed my name on all my accounts (and I'd already been to Social Security earlier in the week). This changing your name thing is effort, kids. Anyhoo... after I left the DMV I went to the post office, not to change my name, but to mail a script out to the Austin Film Festival Screenplay Competition. I don't necessarily have high hopes, but I gotta say it felt really good to be doing SOMETHING film-related again. Then I got myself a P.O. box for my soon-to-be-launched business. It was an exciting post office visit.

Today, the reason I got up early was to take Non to the airport -- he's going to Washington D.C. with the 8th graders at his school to do all things tourist-y for the week. Yes, I shed some tears hugging and kissing him goodbye, but now I've bounced back and am looking forward to a self-indulgent day that includes a movie (if not more than one), a manicure/pedicure, a phone date with my fabulous sister, and hopefully some really good curry for dinner. Yay me.

So, I hate my job. This is not new. The new part is that I hate it so much that I've been looking for a different job -- a part-time job, in fact. The idea of having only a part-time job that requires no real skills whilst leaving me all that time to try and make a go of this new business thrills me like nothing else. I have fantasies about it. True story. I have an interview on Tuesday for a part-time receptionist job at a dating service -- I mean, come on! How great would that be? Wish me luck.


This is One Lazy Baby. - 09 May, 2007
Due Date: Yesterday - 07 May, 2007
Misery - 30 April, 2007
An Unlikely Pairing. - 18 April, 2007
And the Beat Goes on - 16 April, 2007

� design by near-sighted 2002

pregnancy week by week