home
older
about me
guestbook
host
prev | next

Good Morning Mrs. Epstein.
10 February, 2004 * 7:17 pm

A weird thing happened to me tonight: I went to an alterations place to get my wedding dress altered (that's not the weird thing, but granted, it's not the norm). My dress is beautiful, I love it, and I feel completely confident in the seamstress.

The weirdness? As I stood there in front of a huge three-panelled mirror all clad in diamond white I should've been thinking, "WOW!", but all I felt was, "eh."

What's that about? I've waited 30 years to stand in front of a mirror in my wedding dress... I deSERve "WOW!", damn it.

Perhaps my premenstrually temperamental emotional state kept my brain from registering this rite of passage. Perhaps the realization that I've got the bloat something awful today prevented the elation a very-soon-to-be bride is supposed to feel.

Or maybe the bells and whistles and ceremonies and fancy dresses aren't all they're cracked up to be. Sure, they're nice. And I'm still really, really excited for all the hullabaloo in less than 2 months, but maybe the real event doesn't happen at the altar in your fanciest duds with your friends and family watching. Maybe the real gem is waking up the next morning, slightly hung over with mascara smeared to your cheek as you're greeted by your new husband with a kiss and a froggy, "Good morning Mrs. Epstein."


This is One Lazy Baby. - 09 May, 2007
Due Date: Yesterday - 07 May, 2007
Misery - 30 April, 2007
An Unlikely Pairing. - 18 April, 2007
And the Beat Goes on - 16 April, 2007

� design by near-sighted 2002

pregnancy week by week