home
older
about me
guestbook
host
prev | next

A New Kind of Night
24 December, 2003 * 9:34 am

Traditionally, Christmas Eve has been the big night in my family's celebrating history. Ever since the last of us kids (moi) learned the dreaded truth about Santa, we've done our heavy-duty celebrating and present opening on Christmas Eve. And it's just come to my attention that this might also be the reason I've been uber-emotional and moody lately.

This is the first Christmas Eve that I'm not spending with my family.

A big part of me misses them, misses "it" ... the holiday with all our family traditions. From the appetizer frenzy we have all day (and night) long, to my nephew handing out presents when night falls, to family members stealthlily throwing nuts at each other's heads (long story). I miss it all. And it's compounded today knowing that everyone is together at my sister's house except me. I'm the missing puzzle piece.

However, on the flip side of the coin, there's something sort of exciting about spending the evening with Non and establishing some of our own traditions. We've already decided that we'll only open our stockings tonight and leave the gifts until tomorrow. And we'll watch A Christmas Carol (Non's choice) and perhaps White Christmas (my choice). So, it's a give and take, bittersweet, love/hate kind of a thing.

But I know that no matter where my family members are, we'll all be celebrating and eating and drinking and laughing and loving all night long. And I hope you all have gobs of good stuff today, whether it's your big night or not.


This is One Lazy Baby. - 09 May, 2007
Due Date: Yesterday - 07 May, 2007
Misery - 30 April, 2007
An Unlikely Pairing. - 18 April, 2007
And the Beat Goes on - 16 April, 2007

� design by near-sighted 2002

pregnancy week by week