home
older
about me
guestbook
host
prev | next

My Full-time Soap Opera.
01 October, 2003 * 8:30 pm

Wednesday. Mid-week. Normally, this wouldn't present much to report, but you don't work where I work; thus, you haven't been experiencing the ridiculous level of drama that has been going on.

1. One of the owners is on vacation. Normally, this would be a GOOD thing (and for me it is since I don't work for him directly), but now that he's due to come back next week, all the employees under him are scrambling to push through loans that have been neglected during the span of said boss's vacation.

2. On a hormonally-induced whim, the co-worker with whom I work the closest quit last week. She lied and said she had another job lined up and offered to stay on for not just the customary 2 weeks, but for the next month. (She told me this, then swore me to secrecy.) Then, this morning -- not even a week from the time she gave notice -- the powers that be issued her a final check and told her to pack up. Which she did. And then she left.

3. Last Friday -- the day after my co-worker told our boss to "take this job and shove it" (she didn't ACTUALLY say that), I was "talked to" and offered an in-process promotion for which I would eventually take my co-worker's job.

4. At that time, I was also told my co-worker's last day would be today (and sworn to secrecy).

5. I was then told that yet another lady in our department was going to be fired the following week (aka, tomorrow). It's so weird and unsettling to know a person's fate before they do. It feels so wrong -- like my knowing disturbs the cosmos or something. And this gal is going to be really upset, I just know it. There will be tears shed, mark my words.

6. Also, I was told (and subsequently sworn to secrecy) that we will be acquiring a gal from the other company owned by our bosses to be working in our department as of next Monday (10/6). Then today, it was leaked that the gal we want to acquire is trying to get out of this new gig, and that she doesn't want to come work for our company. I don't know if I blame her -- sometimes people at my work can be mean, and it's not often the nicest, most pleasant of working environments. But SHE'S nice, and I was (and am still) hoping she decides to work with us anyway because I'm think her inherent niceness will rub off on all of us.

Oy. I'm almost scared to find out what tomorrow's drama will be because, undoubtedly, there will be something.


This is One Lazy Baby. - 09 May, 2007
Due Date: Yesterday - 07 May, 2007
Misery - 30 April, 2007
An Unlikely Pairing. - 18 April, 2007
And the Beat Goes on - 16 April, 2007

� design by near-sighted 2002

pregnancy week by week