home
older
about me
guestbook
host
prev | next

a review, a dress, a walk.
29 May, 2003 * 12:24 pm

I think this beginning paragraph is supposed to be the one where I beg forgiveness for my obvious neglect of my diary and, hence, its readers. Well, my friends, I don't really have an excuse. I mean, time moved on faster than expected. PMS struck causing emotional upheaval and physical distress. I took a 5-day trip during which I mostly slept. Literally. Then, all of a sudden, it was 26 days later.

And that brings us up to date.

But there are a few things to tell. Whether or not they're all that interesting remains to be seen.

1.) I'm finally having my review next week. I didn't have my 90-day review at the 90-day mark because about 60 days into the original 90 days they promoted me to a different position and the 90 days started over from there. We've past the second 90-day mark by just over a week now, and I've just been alerted that as soon as my boss returns from vacation (he's due back Monday), the review will commence. I'm really anxious for it because I've been working my hinder off for these people and I know they know it. I'm really hoping for, and quite frankly expecting, to be well compensated for it.

2.) During the few minutes I wasn't sleeping on my recent visit to see my parents, my mom and I went out to look at wedding dresses. There's a new-ish bridal shop in town, and she thought it would be fun to check it out. I was skeptical. See, I've got me some boobage. And I'm not hurting in the hip area, either. However, I *do* have one of the shortest torsos you'll ever see on an adult, and the boob-torso-hip combo doesn't make regular dress shopping all that enjoyable. I just assumed that wedding dress shopping would be even worse.

But for whatever reason -- maybe it was a fluke -- I bought a dress. No, no... I bought THE dress. No, no... I mean, MOM bought THE dress. And I love it. LOVE. IT. I hope/plan to lose a little poundage by the wedding, but even so, I think I actually looked pretty damn good in this dress at this size. And what's more important is that I felt good in it. We got it all -- the dress, the veil, the jewelery, the slip, and the bra. But wait, there's more. If we spent $1000 in that store on any given day, you got a complimentary set of luggage, so we added the guestbook and whallah! Luggage! (And it's pretty good luggage at that -- 3 pieces). All that AND luggage for just over $1000. Not a bad deal.

3.) Last night I finally went through the pile of stuff sitting next to my desk that I've been adding to since we moved in. Bank statements, to-do lists, photos to store, etc. It didn't end up taking too long, either, which was nice, and I felt very accomplished when it was done. Non was very pleased, too, as he's been on my case about it for weeks.

4.) I finally managed to pry my super-lazy self out of bed early this morning to take a walk before I showered. The first few minutes during the wake-up period didn't go so smoothly, but once I was outside and enjoying the crisp morning, it was well worth it. In fact, all day long I've felt more together, more alert, and in general more "with it" than I've felt in a long time. Coincidence? I think not. Before I left for work, I put out clothes on the bed to go walking in tomorrow morning. I'm hoping the overall goodness of the walk and its lingering effect will be motivation enough to get me out of bed.


This is One Lazy Baby. - 09 May, 2007
Due Date: Yesterday - 07 May, 2007
Misery - 30 April, 2007
An Unlikely Pairing. - 18 April, 2007
And the Beat Goes on - 16 April, 2007

� design by near-sighted 2002

pregnancy week by week