home
older
about me
guestbook
host
prev | next

Feeling Better
03 May, 2003 * 10:11 am

I just read my sister's most recent entry, and she's inspired me to do things today that I've been putting off. I have at least four emails I've been meaning to return, one snail mail letter to write, and my down-n-dirty cleaning of the bathroom just can't wait any longer.

But, before all that afternoon fun, Non and I are off to put a down payment on our wedding site. I've decided not to contain my excitement for fear of annoying those around me. I'm only getting married once (I hope), and I'm not going to pretend I'm NOT excited when I am. I'm ecstatic, really. I'm all warm and fuzzy inside. I have the love that people write books about, make movies about, dream about. I realize I'm incredibly lucky, and I want to celebrate my good fortune, not stiffle it in an effort to conform to the general discontent of the rest of the world.

Perhaps I've arrived at this new attitude via my realization that my current feelings of anxiety over my attempt to emotionally and mentally adjust to an overwhelming number of life changes that have taken place in the past few months is -- dare I say -- normal. I've spent the last few weeks feeling guilty about feeling stressed out and generally anxious (with a sprinkle of depression thrown in for good measure) until I talked to someone who said, "In the past six months you've found the man of your dreams, moved to a new city, changed jobs, gotten engaged, rethought your religious beliefs, and experienced the anniversary of a life-threatening illness. You say you feel stressed and anxious? Well, DUH!"

Somehow hearing someone else validate the way I'm feeling made me feel it so much less.

So, cheers my friends. Here's hoping your weekend is filled with unexpectedly relieving revelations.


This is One Lazy Baby. - 09 May, 2007
Due Date: Yesterday - 07 May, 2007
Misery - 30 April, 2007
An Unlikely Pairing. - 18 April, 2007
And the Beat Goes on - 16 April, 2007

� design by near-sighted 2002

pregnancy week by week