home
older
about me
guestbook
host
prev | next

Hungryman Lunch Girl
15 January, 2003 * 1:37 pm

The Big News around here is: Floyd is gone. Either the powers that be realized that because he is a temp he�s replaceable, or they just got fed up with having to re-do all of his slip-shotty work. Maybe both.

Now, they have a new temp who knows what she�s doing. Finally. Apparently, she has temped here in the past in my position, and while she�s competent, she is also very young. Not �young� as in age, but she isn�t � how do I put this? � refined, I guess. Granted, this is a small office; therefore, we tend to know each other perhaps more personally that at a large company, but she�s the type of girl who wears low-rider pants with her g-string showing. To work. She curses often, and from what I�ve seen, she�s apt to gossip and stand around talking about the boozing she did over the weekend. Not the classiest girl I�ve ever met, but, like I said, she at least can do the job while they�re looking for someone to fill the position, so that�s good.

Non and I had a long talk the other night about marriage. Well, specifically about a wedding. We�re thinking about getting married in a year from now, but it depends on our schedules, how much money we can save by then, if our parents can help us out financially, etc. But, it was a fun discussion despite all the variables. I�m not going to consider getting married outdoors � I just don�t want to have the �what if it rains/hails/snows/storms/winds?� stress to deal with. I�d really like to get married in a church/synagogue/chapel � a Holy House of some sort, and if it were a place we�d either attended or were familiar with� all the better. The logical place would be Non�s synagogue, but he�s not sure if they�d let us get married there seeing as we�re an interfaith couple. If they would, though, that would take care of that concern all together. We�d like to have an evening wedding and a dinner reception, but it doesn�t need to be in a big, fancy hotel or anything. Again, the synagogue has a rec room, and as cheesy as that may sound, the point of having a reception, as I see it, is just to celebrate with your family and friends over this cool event you just had. Shoot, I can do that in my backyard, if I really wanted to, so why not have it in the rec room? After all, our guests wouldn�t have to drive to the reception site, and that�s always a nice bonus.

I�ve been so hungry all day. I forgot to pack a lunch this morning, and, therefore, I don�t have anything to munch on except what�s in the various candy dishes around the office. Not good. I�ve had a total of 6 pieces of candy, and I�m stopping now. Stopping, I tell you! Now is my usual lunch time, but the Floyd replacement girl who answers the phones for me during my lunch is still at lunch. It�ll be a really late lunch for me today, and I don�t mind that. By the time I get back to work, I only have a couple of hours of work left. And that�s a good thing. Not a Good Thing, but a good thing, nonetheless.

I talked to my old roommate (and good friend), silverbead last night. It was great to talk with her. She�s right at the mid-point of her graduate program, and she�s in the �can�t I just be done now?� rut. I�m trying to find a time in the next couple of months when I can fly down there for a weekend visit. Perhaps in February. Non is going to a conference in Washington DC over one weekend, and it would work out well if we could both be gone the same weekend.

I�m getting excited for my Golden Globes Girls party. I�m going to go to the Party Supply store and get plastic tiaras and big plastic jewel rings and fun stuff like that for us all to wear. I also need to pick up some fun little prizes for whoever wins the Trivia Game (oh yes, I made up a Golden Globes Trivia Game based on the history of the awards show) and for whoever gets the most correct answers from the ballot we�re all going to fill out before the show starts. YAY. How fun!

That�s about all for now. I�m finally off to lunch�Have a Golden Globe-y day!


This is One Lazy Baby. - 09 May, 2007
Due Date: Yesterday - 07 May, 2007
Misery - 30 April, 2007
An Unlikely Pairing. - 18 April, 2007
And the Beat Goes on - 16 April, 2007

� design by near-sighted 2002

pregnancy week by week