home
older
about me
guestbook
host
prev | next

Welcome Home, 2003.
02 January, 2003 * 11:01 am

You know how some years a lot of stuff happens, and other years� not so much? 2000, 2001 � not so much. This past year, however, so many things happened that it�s hard to believe it�s all occurred in only 365 days.

Meeting Non, of course, was the biggest highlight of my year (actually, it�s been, perhaps, the biggest highlight of my life). The first time I spoke with him, we had one of those marathon conversations � hours long and really interesting and entertaining. We had been talking about, oh, everything and nothing; topics which I found interesting, humorous, intriguing� an altogether enjoyable conversation. Toward the end of it, I was commenting on how rare and random it is to fall into such an interesting, detailed conversation with a total stranger, and Non said something rather bold� something I�ll never forget.

�I don�t know what it is, but I have this feeling that you�re going to have a significant impact on my life.�

As sweet and heartfelt as it sounded, my immediate reaction was,

�Yeah, uh-huh. Suuuuure.�

But, damn it if he wasn�t right.

We had a great time in Monterey with friends counting down to 2003, but once we got home was when things really got interesting. After doing a little shopping, taking a nap, and watching some shows on TV Land (since it was the first day of the new year, they were showing the first episodes of old sitcoms like The Brady Bunch, The Munsters, and Gilligan�s Island), we went to bed fairly early last night (a resolution for both of us is to get up earlier so we can exercise before work). But we fell into another one of those spontaneous conversations, and we were up until 2:30 talking about our lives and the future (and having some A-MA-ZING sex, but that�s probably too much information � sorry Mom). We talked about our individual goals and how marriage and family is a part of that. Inevitably, we discussed how we�ll probably never be able to afford a house in the Bay Area, and where else, and when, we�d like to move and potentially raise a family. We talked about what kind of wedding we�d like to have and, in turn, we decided to sit down this weekend and make a budget so we can figure out how much we can put into savings each month in preparation for that and other upcoming expenses (i.e., my car has over 200,000 miles on it, and even though it�s a Honda, I fear its demise is forthcoming). I cried a little about� I don�t even remember what, and then we ended up laughing about my crying over whatever it was (at least I can make fun of my PMS). And after all of that, we ended up falling asleep in each others� arms. The alarm went off a mere four hours later, and as adamant as I was about getting up to exercise this morning, all Non had to say to convince me to postpone exercising until this evening was, �are you REALLY getting up?�

Ah, yes. Compromising your resolution barely 24 hours after you�ve made it -- it�s the only way to start a new year.


This is One Lazy Baby. - 09 May, 2007
Due Date: Yesterday - 07 May, 2007
Misery - 30 April, 2007
An Unlikely Pairing. - 18 April, 2007
And the Beat Goes on - 16 April, 2007

� design by near-sighted 2002

pregnancy week by week