home
older
about me
guestbook
host
prev | next

She Had Scrawled the Word "BOOTY" Across Her Butt.
16 December, 2002 * 12:55 pm

About ten minutes ago, I was walking back up to my desk from the fax machine, and I got up here just in time to see the front door closing. The funny thing is, no one was entering or exiting the office at the time (I can see outside because it�s all glass up here). I couldn�t figure out how the door opened and closed itself until just now when, all on its own, the door opened half way, stayed open for a good two seconds then closed again. It took me a full half of a freaked out minute to realize that the wind is so strong it�s blowing the door open. I don�t know why the wind option didn�t occur to me sooner seeing as it�s been raining/storming all weekend long. I�ll blame it on lack of sleep -- which is actually a valid excuse this time.

And that brings me to the recap of my weekend. CAMP. With kids aged 12-17. In a rainstorm. Beyond the belligerent teenage boys, the scantily-clad girls (one of whom was a girl in my cabin who attempted to wear one of those see-through, skin tight t-shirts and low-rise jeans onto which she had scrawled the word �booty� across the butt � at the tender age of 12, mind you), the long-since planned outdoor activities that had to be modified to be executed indoors, the consistent dampness of your clothes (they might be dry when you put them on, but once you walked ANYWHERE, the wetness you incurred never quite seemed to leave), and the virtual mountain that must be climbed to get from the dining hall to the cabins, it was an alright weekend.

Because it was a Jewish camp, there were many things I didn�t know, let alone understand, and at first, I felt really overwhelmed. I mean, I�m very interested in learning about Judaism (I keep asking Non if there�s a �Judaism 101� class that I can take), and I�m happy to go to services and experience it, but I felt so ignorant being at this camp as a Staff Member and not really knowing what was going on. All I have to compare it to is Christian Camp, which I�ve attended as a camper and as a Staff Member. I know for a fact that they wouldn�t hire anyone as Staff unless they were Christian. While I think it�s really cool that this synagogue would chose to hire a camp counselor based more on the fact that he/she is a good person, and less so that he/she is (or is not) Jewish, I can�t deny the fact that I felt like an outsider much of the time. That�s not to say that the kids and other staff members shunned me at all � quite the contrary. I guess I�m just so used to joining in the singing and prayers and general discussions, that when I wasn�t able to (simply for my lack of knowledge) I automatically felt like an outsider. There was a lot of singing in Hebrew, which was really neat to hear. I was amazed that these kids knew so much! The praying and chanting and singing was different than I was used to, though, and it finally occurred to me toward the end of the weekend what the difference seemed to be: whereas Christians� actions (generally) stem from a desire to follow God via the bible, the actions I was witnessing all weekend from these Jews seemed to stem from what they perceive as their duty to comply with the Torah based on their culture and heritage.

DISCLAIMER: Let me just say a couple things here. First, this is only my assumption/opinion. Second, the Jews I joined this weekend are Reform Jews, and though I don�t know if that makes a difference regarding the origination of their actions, I thought it was worth mentioning just in case.

If my assumption is true (and Non said, from his perspective, it basically was), then it makes me feel better. Here I�ve been trying to understand Judaism based on how I�ve learned Christianity, but from what I�ve deduced, Christians and Jews don�t (generally) come at religion via the same way. While that may sound elementary, it�s not something I�ve realized until just now, and that realization makes what I�ve been witnessing seem much easier to comprehend. That, in itself, if comforting to me in that I don�t feel as much of an outsider anymore. It�s like I�ve been doing a puzzle, and I have two big bits of puzzle put together, but I haven�t been able to find the puzzle piece that joined the two. Does that make sense or am I rambling? In either case, I�ll (finally) move to a new topic. It�s just that this is a fairly big deal to me seeing that because Non is Jewish I want to know more about him/it, and this weekend opened my eyes a bit.

ANYway. Back to the rain, or rather its effect. Non is sick. He�s got the flu. I think he was susceptible to it not only because of weather and its consequential chill factor, but because after working a full week and spending his weekend, essentially, working some more, he exhausted himself. It was great to see him with the kids this weekend, though. He�s got this rare characteristic that allows them to both really like and really respect him. It�s ironic because he�s known as the mean one, the stern one, the one people come to for help when the kids just won�t follow their instructions. One word from him and, as if by magic, the kids� attitudes change completely and they do whatever they�re told. Normally, the mean staff members may be obeyed by the kids, but they aren�t liked. However, the kids LOVE him. He�s looks like a big brute, but he�s got the biggest heart I�ve ever known. I fell in love with him all over again this weekend, and I can�t shake this overwhelming feeling of gratitude that not only did I find an amazing love, but that it�s with this incredible man.

In other news, it�s my sister�s anniversary today. I was just remembering her wedding day � I was only 16, and even though I�ve attended (and been a part of) countless weddings since then, hers still sticks out in my mind as being exceedingly lovely. I get to see her and my bro-in-law (who I�m so fond of he might as well be my actual brother, except that would be incestuous and icky) and our nephew in just one week from today, and I couldn�t be more excited. I�m also excited for them to meet Non and vice versa. I�m expecting them all to get along exceedingly well, and I don�t think I�ll be disappointed.

Lastly, someone just brought in little Christmas gift boxes, and one was left on my desk. I opened it and found homemade toffee! I was going to put it into the candy dish that visitors and staff alike dip into, but it�s not individually wrapped. YAY! Now I have an excuse to hog it all and bring it home.

Welcome home, Christmas toffee.


This is One Lazy Baby. - 09 May, 2007
Due Date: Yesterday - 07 May, 2007
Misery - 30 April, 2007
An Unlikely Pairing. - 18 April, 2007
And the Beat Goes on - 16 April, 2007

� design by near-sighted 2002

pregnancy week by week