home
older
about me
guestbook
host
prev | next

Adventures in Retail
22 November, 2002 * 12:47 pm

OY VEY!

(I feel I'm actually justified in using that term now, as Non is Jewish and I'm living with him. It's like I'm Jewish by association.)

So, once again -- just because I can -- OY VEY! If any of you have ever worked retail (or continue to today), let me just say this: I'm so sorry. I've spent the last two weeks working some retail, and I'm starting to think my pore feet will never recover. Besides all the standing, the worst part is the ass-kissyness. I'd hate to have a job as, basically, a professional ass-kisser. And what IS it with rich people bringing their dogs everywhere? Who started this and, more importantly, WHY? Now, you may have in mind those little miniature poodles being carried in some socialite's purse (the dog, meanwhile, is being blinded by the gems dangling from the fingers and wrists of its owner/carrier), and I did see those. A whole bunch of those. But I ALSO saw larger dogs -- MUCH larger dogs -- as in greyhounds wandering alone through the women's department of Neiman Marcus, their leashes dragging behind them. WHO DOES THIS?! (Okay, so it was only ONE greyhound, but STILL).

Speaking of gems (kinda), one day I saw an eleven carrot diamond ring. I'm serious! It was wider than the wearer's finger! Now, really, what is the point of that? She might as well wear a sign that says, "Rob Me, Please." A co-worker was ringing her up and called me over to gawk at the diamond. I was so stupified that I lost all sense of professionalism and composure and expressed what I feel would be the sentiment of the majority of people I know: "Damn!"

Jobs here are scarce, to put it mildly. It may be that way all over the country, but I don't know because, frankly, I haven't been paying attention. I just know how frustrated I've personally been with the job market. My retail days may be numbered, however, as I'm going on an interview in a little more than an hour. It's for this cute little cafe right next to a great bookstore called Keplers. I applied at the bookstore, and as I was walking out, I saw a "Hiring" sign in the cafe's window, so I applied. I know joleen strongly suggested waiting tables was less than desirable when it comes down to it, but at this point, anything that offers a consistent paycheck is highly desirable to me.

So, have a wonderful weekend, and never underestimate the importance of comfortable shoes.


This is One Lazy Baby. - 09 May, 2007
Due Date: Yesterday - 07 May, 2007
Misery - 30 April, 2007
An Unlikely Pairing. - 18 April, 2007
And the Beat Goes on - 16 April, 2007

� design by near-sighted 2002

pregnancy week by week