home
older
about me
guestbook
host
prev | next

What to do...
08 November, 2002 * 11:59 am

So, I've been in this new apartment for 12 days now. There's almost nothing left to do. I've been looking for work -- emailing and faxing resumes. I also went down and filled out an application at this place that wouldn't take resumes via email or fax, and I even registered with a staffing service in town (Manpower). Pictures and paintings are hanging on walls, dishes are put away in cupboards, clothes are in closets, the beds are made.

It's official: I'm running out of things to do.

Technically, I have three other house-y things to do that, for one reason or another, I've been putting off.

1.) Rearranging my side of the closet. I hope I'm not the only one like this, but I like the clothes in my closet to follow a certain order. Nothing ridiculous... just semi-normal. You know -- pants all together, dresses together, skirts in between, etc. Right now my clothes are hanging the exact way they were shoved in there the day we moved in. I can't find anything when they're like that. I've been wearing the same three outfits because I don't know where anything else is.

2.) Rearrange underneath the bathroom sink. Okay, so this one might make me sound a bit anal -- that is not the case. A few days ago, the maintenance guy came in because we were having water problems, and he had to take out everything from underneath the sink in order to get to the pipes. When he was done, he just shoved everything back in there and it's not how I want it to be. Hence, my desire -- nay, my need -- to rearrange it all. There's not much storage at this place; therefore, some stuff I'd normally put somewhere else entirely is being housed under the bathroom sink. There's a lotta crap under there, and how it's been thrown in there is bugging me.

3.) My mural. For the last several apartments, I've been cutting out photos and/or articles from entertainment magazines and making a sort of wall collage somewhere in my living space. I've decided that this apartment's collage will go on the wall above my desk (inspiration, I guess), but I have yet to actually put it up. I've got too many clippings to chose from, and to be honest, the task feels a bit daunting. There'll be a lot of sifting involved, I just know it.

So, beyond those three things, I really have nothing else to do (besides trying to figure out which remote goes to which entertainment unit in the living room). I don't necessarily like not having anything to do. Generally, I like feeling useful... and in the recent past, even though I haven't been working at a place for money, I've at least felt useful here because I've been putting things away and making the place more livable. But now, the place is entirely livable, and I'm starting to feel useless. Ick.

I better get started on that closet.


This is One Lazy Baby. - 09 May, 2007
Due Date: Yesterday - 07 May, 2007
Misery - 30 April, 2007
An Unlikely Pairing. - 18 April, 2007
And the Beat Goes on - 16 April, 2007

� design by near-sighted 2002

pregnancy week by week