home
older
about me
guestbook
host
prev | next

I Gave Them Urine and Blood for Thirty Bucks
03 October, 2002 * 10:09 pm

So, I'm in this research study for some new migraine medication. It's a year-long study, and it requires seven total visits throughout that year. Yesterday was my first visit, and they had to take urine and blood and do an EKG, as well as making me read and, consequently, sign, a bunch of papers.

I felt somewhat happy with myself when I finished reading and signing the papers and it came time to pee into the little plastic cup. I had some serious ESP before I left my apartment that they might need a urine sample, so I drank a big glass of water before I darted out the door (Isn't it the WORST when you just can't pee into that cup? No amount of running tap water will get me going, I've tried).

Then came time for the blood draw. I'm not fond of having my blood taken because when I was sick a few years ago, I was pricked and prodded so many times that it made my veins hard, so they'd have to take blood from my knuckles and wrists and other places near which I'd rather not have sharp, pointy objects. Since then, whenever I've had to get my blood drawn, it's sent me plunging back into those vivid memories. So, not only do they have trouble sticking me cause my veins don't want to cooperate, I have difficulty not becoming anxious and emotional which ALSO makes it difficult to draw blood. It's a lose-lose situation here, kids. But, I tried to stay calm. I figured I'd give them half a chance of getting it on the first try if I were at least relaxed -- and I thought I was -- but, alas, they didn't. They eventually had to get it from my left wrist. I'm bruised at each site they tried.

So, fine. At least the blood-draw part was over. All that was left was the EKG. Piece of cake. I've had EKGs before and you just lay there while the nurse puts sticky round pads in some places, then turns on a machine for a few seconds. No problem, right? Except for the part when the machine tells me that I've got myself an enlarged heart. Not great news in my book, and to be honest, I think it was lying. I had an EKG not six months ago, and my heart was fine. It can't just SWELL like that so fast, I'm pretty darn sure. But, of course, that didn't stop me from thinking the worst on my drive home. I had to rely on my Mom and Non to calm me down. Which they did.

But, if I decide to do this study, I'll have FREE migraine medication for a full year. FREE. Medication. Full year. Plus, they pay me $30 per visit. So, it's even better than free. It's free-plus!

Sounds like a pretty good deal to me.


This is One Lazy Baby. - 09 May, 2007
Due Date: Yesterday - 07 May, 2007
Misery - 30 April, 2007
An Unlikely Pairing. - 18 April, 2007
And the Beat Goes on - 16 April, 2007

� design by near-sighted 2002

pregnancy week by week