home
older
about me
guestbook
host
prev | next

A Balmy 81 Degrees
24 September, 2002 * 1:58 am

It's two o'clock in the morning, and I can't sleep. Not good. I'm convinced I have heartburn. Though, in actuality I'm not sure if I've ever had heartburn before so I don't really know what it feels like. But I'm sure this is it. A slight tightness in the chest -- like I have to burp -- and every time I try to, it just turns into this burning sensation in my upper chest and esophagus area instead of giving me the satisfaction of a burp. Is that heartburn? I'm banking on it. I don't think I want to know if it's something else.

Also, I've been wordlessly fighting with my roommate over the thermostat again. We never talk about it, we just keep going to it, individually, while the other isn't looking, and changing it to the temperature we prefer. It's just been so stinkin' HOT here, and I have no idea why, but she keeps setting it for 80 degrees or more. I change it to what I think is a reasonable 75 degrees, only to, yet again, wake up in the middle of the night -- sweaty and disgusting -- to find that she'd turned it back to a balmy 81. I don't know that we'll ever actually discuss the thermostat war, seeing as we'll only be roommates for a few more weeks. We've gone a year and a half without discussing it... what's another four weeks? We'll just continue thinking that maybe this time we've outsmarted the other.

I talked to my sister this weekend, and I really miss her. For a while, during my undergraduate days, she and her husband lived very close to me -- about 45 minutes away -- and I could go see them anytime I wanted. I miss having them that near; I'm sure I took our geographical closeness for granted while I had it. Non and I are hoping to go out to NC to visit them for Thanksgiving. I'm really looking forward to that. Here's a photo of the two of us. Do you think we look alike? For years we never saw it. Only now am I beginning to see the resemblance.

Alright. I'm going to change the thermostat once again to my preferred 75 degrees and hope that my roomie sleeps through the night without getting up to change it again, while I fall asleep and dream of cooler weather.

That is, if I can fall asleep with this damn heartburn.


This is One Lazy Baby. - 09 May, 2007
Due Date: Yesterday - 07 May, 2007
Misery - 30 April, 2007
An Unlikely Pairing. - 18 April, 2007
And the Beat Goes on - 16 April, 2007

� design by near-sighted 2002

pregnancy week by week