home
older
about me
guestbook
host
prev | next

My Thing
23 September, 2002 * 10:42 am

Another Monday, and most people are thinking, "I wish I weren't at work today". But all I'm thinking is, "I wish I WERE at work today", because I need the money. I'm not destitute or anything, but with this upcoming move and with all the piddly little things I need to take care of BEFORE the move, the current status of my bank account cannot keep up. I emailed my temp lady this morning just to remind her that I'm "available and eager" to work. So, hopefully, I'll be useful somewhere this week.

In other news, the EMMYS. I was just reading joleen's diary, and how she was having a hard time concentrating for the entire three-hour telecast. When it comes to the Big Three (Oscars, Emmys, and the Golden Globes) I am completely and blissfully unaware of anything else BESIDES the telecasts on those days. In fact, though sad it may sound, I am in front of the TV for most of the day... the Pre-Emmys/Oscars/Golden Globes shows, the actual Emmys/Oscars/Golden Globes, and the Post-Emmys/Oscars/Golden Globes are all absorbed by me like a dry sponge finally grasping its first spongeful of liquid. I suck it all up as quickly and as eagerly as my body lets me, and I'm always the resident expert on the subject. When our friends come over for the ACTUAL telecast (like they did last night, for instance), I'm the one they direct any questions toward. When Michael Chiklis won for Best Actor in a Drama Series last night (for The Shield on FX), Wow triumphantly announced to all of us,

"Do you know he's only 29 years old?"

I felt it my need, nay, my duty to correct him.

"He's THIRTY-nine, not twenty-nine." To which he replied,

"I heard someone say he was 29."

"Well, I saw him tell Joan Rivers he was 39 in the Pre-Show."

Ha.

It's silly, I know. You could even say it's sophomoric, and you might be right. But it's MY thing, and damn it, don't go messing with My Thing.

I realized last night (and I cannot believe I hadn't known this before) that Non has never watched an entire Entertainment Awards Show in his life. When my three best friends heard this, they all replied (in unison),

"And he's dating YOU?!"

I made sure to inform Non last night that IF we're going to make a life together, THIS is an issue from which I will not budge. Until we are invited to attend these shows ourselves, we will be TV bound for the entirety of the days these shows are on. And do you know what kind of response I got? Do you? Non watched the entire show at his house and called me during the commercials to make sure I knew he was still watching.

If HE'S not a keeper, I just don't know who is.


This is One Lazy Baby. - 09 May, 2007
Due Date: Yesterday - 07 May, 2007
Misery - 30 April, 2007
An Unlikely Pairing. - 18 April, 2007
And the Beat Goes on - 16 April, 2007

� design by near-sighted 2002

pregnancy week by week