home
older
about me
guestbook
host
prev | next

Looking, Officially
20 September, 2002 * 10:37 am

So, having made this semi-momentous decision to move up to the Bay Area to be with Non, I've entered into the tedium of searching for a job. Truthfully, this isn't the first time I've browsed monster or fligdog or hotjobs for something in that area, but yesterday was the first time I'd Officially Looked.

There's a difference, you know.

I ended up finding a handful of jobs that I think I might like. I applied online for them last night, and got two return emails this morning (nothing personal... just those automatic, "hey, thanks for applying..." type of things). One job is at a community college, and in that return email they suggest I download their application, fill it out, and fax it back. So, I'll do that. And I'll keep looking in the meantime because... well, because I will. I'm going to be back up with Non next weekend. I'm going up on Thursday, so on Friday I can take Non to work and use his truck to go around to look for jobs tangibly. I just hope I don't get lost; I'm a little directionally challenged.

I'm at another temp job today -- it's actually a place I've been at before, and I really love it here. They order lunch and always include me (free lunch, anyone?), and I barely have anything to do except surf the internet and read whatever book I've brought with me. Today I'm re-reading "The Great Divorce" by C.S. Lewis. I'd read it in college, but that was several years ago. And, mostly, it's a very compact book and it fit nicely in my purse this morning. But, that's not the only reason for its appeal. It's interesting, it really is. But, I digress. What I really wanted to mention is how freakin' cold in here it is! I'm wearing long pants, a t-shirt and a courderoy blazer, yet my nose is cold and my fingernails are rapidly changing from healthy pink to frosty purple. No wonder there's a coffee pot the size of a bucket in the kitchen -- they need it to regulate their body temperature.

Okay, so let's stop beating around the bush, shall we? SURVIVOR. Who watched it, and who saw the whole junior high, I'm-the-last-one-picked-for-the-team scenario coming? I sure didn't, but WOW did. He called it as soon as The Probst held out the two different hankies to the two oldest members of the 16. I'll admit, I was fairly impressed. I had been sucked in with the media to think that they were going to start out with boys v. girls tribes. Good job, Mark Burnett. You got me. I was fairly happy to see that the tribe we were all led to believe would have the best time of it (i.e., the young, hunky, strong tribe) were having all the fights and were the miserable ones. And that guy with the flavor saver piercing? He bugs. He looks like Tommy Lee on steroids and sounds like Anna Nicole's alter ego. I can't wait to read what my sis thought of it.

Speaking of my sis, I miss her. I miss her and Francisco and The Boy very much. Non and I are planning on going to NC for thanksgiving, and I'm SO happy about it. Francisco signed my guestbook about yesterday's moving entry and was so funny and wonderful and supportive. They are some of my favorite people in the world -- how cool is it that I'm related to them!

I'm going to relent and take a dip from the bucket o' coffee. I can only stave off goosebumps and my chattering teeth for so long.


This is One Lazy Baby. - 09 May, 2007
Due Date: Yesterday - 07 May, 2007
Misery - 30 April, 2007
An Unlikely Pairing. - 18 April, 2007
And the Beat Goes on - 16 April, 2007

� design by near-sighted 2002

pregnancy week by week