home
older
about me
guestbook
host
prev | next

The Way you Know about a Good Melon
19 September, 2002 * 11:57 am

The Big News is that Non and I are seriously talking about relocation. Which, I'm sure you've already deduced, would make this long-distance relationship neither long nor distant anymore. Because Non is a teacher, and is therefore contracted through next Spring, the relocation process applies mostly to me.

I actually like the idea of picking up and moving to a new city. It sounds exciting rather than scary. I suppose I'm adventurous that way. I moved to a new state after high school graduation and loved it. I toyed with moving to a different state again after college graduation, but was unable to because of illness. And though I didn't move as I was approaching the end of my masters program this past Spring, I THOUGHT about moving and how fun it could've been.

So, in my mind, there are LOTS of pros to moving to the Bay Area. Topping the list is, obviously, the whole being-close-to-Non aspect. That pro should really count as more than one, so big a draw it is for me. The only major con I can think of is the fact that I'll be away from LA where the entertainment industry is. Seeing as that's the industry I want to get into, it makes sense to stay geographically close to it. However, I've been doing virtually nothing to worm my way into it recently, save sending out the occaisional script. I can just as easily do that from the Bay Area. I would eventually want to move back down to LA, which I've talked to Non about, and even if I'd only relocate for a few months, I'd happily do it if that meant I'd be in the same zip code as my Love for those few months.

The only other con I can think of is the "Is it too soon?" factor. Some people may say it is. Too soon, that is. And if Non and I were 22 years old, I'd agree. But we're 29 -- Non turns 30 next month, even -- and we're not just jumping into something before thinking it and talking it through. We've each had relationships that didn't work out. We've each been able to learn from them and evolve our relationship criteria accordingly. We're each seasoned daters who sincerely believes we've not only found someone we could settle down with, but The One we Want to settle down with.

Most importantly, we just know. We know we want to grow old together. We know we want to be each other's family. We know we'd like that process to begin as soon as possible. We know the way you know about a good melon.

So, I guess this diary entry was as much to convince myself that this is a good decision as it was to convince anyone else.

And it did.

"At first I thought he was crossing the room to talk to my friend, Ilene, because men were always crossing rooms to talk to Ilene. But he wasn't. He was crossing the room to talk to me. And he said,"

'I'm Danny Small, of the Long Island Smalls.'

"At that point I knew. I knew the way you know about a good melon."


This is One Lazy Baby. - 09 May, 2007
Due Date: Yesterday - 07 May, 2007
Misery - 30 April, 2007
An Unlikely Pairing. - 18 April, 2007
And the Beat Goes on - 16 April, 2007

� design by near-sighted 2002

pregnancy week by week