home
older
about me
guestbook
host
prev | next

Master Theorist at Work
06 September, 2002 * 9:15 am

I'm trying to figure something out.

Why is it that an educated, intelligent (133, remember?) , creative, efficient gal like me can't find a job even semi-equal to her level of education and age?

What. Is. Wrong. With. This. Picture.

I've formed a few theories, and as I can't seem to settle on just one, I thought I'd let it be up to you, dear friends, to help me decide just exactly WHY I'm apparently completely, ridiculously UNemployable.

THEORY #1: THE HAIR.

Perhaps people have something against red. Perhaps people have something against the curls. Perhaps people have something against the occaisional funky pigtails. Perhaps all these people can BITE ME.

THEORY #2: THE HEIGHT (or lack thereof)

Whereas I'm far from dwarf status (I hope, anyway), perhaps my 5'0" stature makes people uncomfortable. Maybe I'm viewed as a freak of nature, and my inability to land a good-ish job lies only in the fact that people are all at once afraid of and intrigued by me. Kinda like those little, tiny condiment bottles you find in Cost Plus that are cute, but freakishly small.

THEORY #3: THE INTIMIDATION FACTOR

Perhaps when people find out I've got two degrees to their NONE, they become unnecessarily intimidated by me. A young woman. With two degrees. And no babies. (Did you like how I made sure to add the adjective "young" to the word "woman"?) Always thinking. That's me. Of course, I'm not going to tell you WHAT I'm always thinking...

On a sidenote: The girl who answers the phones from 7-8 (before I get here) writes me notes if an employee isn't in on a particular day. She misspells the word "vacation" every time. So, people at this company only get to go on a "vaction".

It drives me insane (as if I needed any more help).


This is One Lazy Baby. - 09 May, 2007
Due Date: Yesterday - 07 May, 2007
Misery - 30 April, 2007
An Unlikely Pairing. - 18 April, 2007
And the Beat Goes on - 16 April, 2007

� design by near-sighted 2002

pregnancy week by week