home
older
about me
guestbook
host
prev | next

Diametrically Opposed
13 August, 2002 * 11:07 am

Sitting at the front desk of an office renders you either the most interesting person in the building, or completely invisible. And it's strange to alternate between too such opposing positions. With the guys in the office, they're up here making coffee, helping me play solitaire ( because you know I need it ), asking my opinion on things about which they have yet to realize I don't have an opinion. Then, there's the guy who just came in for a meeting with The Man, everyone's supervisor.

Him: (not looking at me, just fiddling with his briefcase) Hi.

Me: Hi.

Him: (Still fiddling) I'm here to meet with The Man.

Me: May I tell him your name?

And he doesn't even answer me. He just holds out a business card in my general direction. At this point I either want to pretend he isn't there or pull the card from his fingers in such a way as to inflict on his hand the deepest, most painful papercut this side of the Rockies. Instead, I politely take the card and say,

Me: Thank you. I'll let The Man know you're here.

$50,000 for a Masters degree so I can let this guy treat me like that. Doesn't seem like such a wise investment at the moment.

The Good News: this is my last day in this office.

The Even Better News: I'll be vacationing in San Francisco in less than three days.


This is One Lazy Baby. - 09 May, 2007
Due Date: Yesterday - 07 May, 2007
Misery - 30 April, 2007
An Unlikely Pairing. - 18 April, 2007
And the Beat Goes on - 16 April, 2007

� design by near-sighted 2002

pregnancy week by week