home
older
about me
guestbook
host
prev | next

A huge chin and a striking resemblance
05 August, 2002 * 9:05 am

Let me just say this: Gravity sucks sometimes.

I spent this weekend attempting to make some foam prosthetics for a new make-up job I have in September. (If you're new to the facial prosthetics-making bizz, suffice it to say it can be a LONG process). And, because for this film there is very little budget, and because the director found a halloween mask that he wanted his "monster" character modeled after, I was coming at the make-up making process backwards.

Furthermore, it didn't work.

Usually, you base everything around the face of the actor who will be playing the character. You'd make a mold of their face, then cast it in plaster, then sculpt the shape you want with clay, then make your prosthetic on top of that. Now, because I'm doing it backwards, I'm starting with the CHARACTER'S face and basically pouring my liquid foam directly into the mask in hopes that it will dry conforming itself to the shape of the mask. Doesn't sound so bad, right? Well, the thing about masks is... they don't lay flat. And THAT'S where the whole gravity thing becomes the issue. So, instead of having a nice, smooth chin and lower cheek prosthetic... I have a really pronounced chin prosthetic. NOT what I needed. So, anyone in need of a large, Leno-esque, prosthetic chin -- just ask.

Speaking of Jay Leno, near-sighted's newest entry includes an unfortunate resemblance to the late-night show host via evil mosquitos. And it made me wonder... whom do you resemble (if anyone)? When I take a brush to my hair I'm a dead ringer for a red-headed Rosanna Rosanna Danna (only, I don't squint as much). Normally, though, I think I only really resemble my sister, tattoobelly, which I'm glad about because I like her very much and as people go, she's a good one to resemble.

I'm curious now. Do people liken you to a certain celebrity or well-known personality? Have they EVER likened you to ANYONE other than yourself? Perhaps you're more like jimmyusual who seems to remind almost everyone of someone they "can't quite put their finger on".

Let me know. Maybe I'll take a poll or write a research paper or something.


This is One Lazy Baby. - 09 May, 2007
Due Date: Yesterday - 07 May, 2007
Misery - 30 April, 2007
An Unlikely Pairing. - 18 April, 2007
And the Beat Goes on - 16 April, 2007

� design by near-sighted 2002

pregnancy week by week