home
older
about me
guestbook
host
prev | next

Plagued by the six of spades
02 August, 2002 * 11:24 am

Another day, another temp job, another desperate attempt to fill the all-too-boring hours.

Welcome to my life.

The a/c is on so high in this office that my nose is cold to the touch (not that anyone but myself has been touching my nose, but you know). I'm perpetually cold despite the fact that I live in Southern California and happen to be wearing pants and a long-sleeved shirt today. It has not made for an enjoyable morning. But, don't get me wrong. I'm thankful to be working.

I got a call from a restaurant I applied to weeks ago. Turns out they're hiring. They wanted to hire me, but when I told them about a weekend coming up during which I wouldn't be available, they suddenly were unsure whether or not I was hirable. They gave me a menu to memorize, though, and told me to call them today to make sure they could arrange the schedule to accommodate me (or something). So, I wait.

I think I would like being a waitress. I've never done it before, but I'm pretty good with people and I enjoy being busy. I can keep up with witty and engaging banter, and I'm stronger than I look. Not to mention that I look cute in an apron.

In other news, I finally finished my thesis script. Of course, I'm sure I can always find SOMETHING to re-write, but I've come to a point where I'm fairly happy with it, and I'm not embarrassed to send it out to be read by people who have influence. It's a good feeling to finally be able to cross that off my perpetually-long "To Do" list. Now I have room to add "learn how NOT to kill plants" to the bottom of my list.

Along with the mind-numbing hours of nothingness that I'm enduring today, I've been playing quite a lot of solitaire. And let me just say this: I am quite possibly the World's Worst Solitaire Player Ever. I've played at least 25 games this morning and have yet to win one. I don't know why, exactly, but I just don't SEE the black queen sitting patiently next to the red king... or that I have the ace of hearts on top while I'm cursing the two of hearts for being on top of a pile I need to get to. I know it must mean something about me... like I'm right-brained or a certain type of thinker. But, when it comes right down to it, I think I'm just a Solitaire Retard.


This is One Lazy Baby. - 09 May, 2007
Due Date: Yesterday - 07 May, 2007
Misery - 30 April, 2007
An Unlikely Pairing. - 18 April, 2007
And the Beat Goes on - 16 April, 2007

� design by near-sighted 2002

pregnancy week by week