home
older
about me
guestbook
host
prev | next

Glitter and a Habit
01 July, 2002 * 11:47 pm

I'm going to see The Sound of Music at the Hollywood Bowl this weekend. Apparently, it's a BIG, annual deal. Some friends of mine went to it last year, and now they've roped me into going with them. I like The Sound of Music just fine, and I'm sure I'll have a great time, but it's not something I would've chosen to attend on my own.

One of the fringe benefits to this event is that, taking a page from Rocky Horror, it is the norm for attendees to dress up as a character from The Sound of Music. Having procrastinated on costuming this year, the group's consensus was to be simple, so we're all going to dress up as nuns. I love this idea because of its comfort level. Just tonight, however, my flamboyantly gay friend (we'll call him "Wow") decided for us all that we can't JUST be nuns... we'll be GLAM NUNS instead (Wow watched Velvet Goldmine this weekend for the first time). So, I've been designated the Glamer-upper for all the participants (you know, the make-up artist). I actually am a make-up artist of sorts, so I'm kinda looking forward to it. I forsee the use of exorbitant amounts of glitter.

Today I had some time to kill, so I found myself in the local Tower record store. As I had no money to spend, I made my way to the "listening center" for some free music and to peruse the musicians featured there. I ended up standing at the same booth for 45 minutes listening to the same album. I listened to almost every song (and one song, in particular, three different times).

Obviously, I dug the record.

It was the Susie Arioli Swing Band featuring Jordan Officer. I don't necessarily consider myself an avid swing music fan, but for some reason I began listening to the record and I didn't stop. That Susie has an amazing voice. As I mentioned earlier, however, I had not the means to purchase said record today, so I made a mental note to come back when I get my next paycheck. Even so, it was a nice afternoon of listening to good music, despite the contemptuous stares I was intentionally ignoring over my hogging of that particular listening center booth thingie.

It's come to my attention that the standard yellow diaryland template is hard on the eyes. Fear not, dear friends, for the wonderful catiecake has offered to design me a new, less optically offensive template. All hail the Catie!


This is One Lazy Baby. - 09 May, 2007
Due Date: Yesterday - 07 May, 2007
Misery - 30 April, 2007
An Unlikely Pairing. - 18 April, 2007
And the Beat Goes on - 16 April, 2007

� design by near-sighted 2002

pregnancy week by week