home
older
about me
guestbook
host
prev | next

We'll call him Dean 'cause that was his name
01 July, 2002 * 12:37 am

I just returned from a wedding. At this age, with most of my friends already married, weddings are a tricky business. When attending a wedding these days, I can almost bet I'm either going to really love the experience, or really loathe it.

Tonight, however, was an interesting mix of the two.

I went to the wedding with three other friends, who all happen to be single (like moi), and in no time we realized that among our friends, we have become the minority. At the reception, the four of us found our place cards and sat down at what apparently was the designated "Singles Table." Our table filled up with three other single guys (good odds, I guess, for my roommate and I who were the only females at the table). The three "other" guys were personable and nice enough, but before even the salad came it became painfully clear that Dean (we'll call him "Dean" cause that was his name), who - of the three other guys at our table - was the least attractive to me, was putting out the vibe in my direction. It's not that he wasn't nice, he was. It's not that he wasn't at least semi-good looking, he semi-was. It was just a "quality" he possessed that disengaged me. The quality translated as either social ineptness, chemical dependency, or a combination of both.

In the course of a group conversation, Dean asked me out twice (i.e., he offered to take me to a movie once, then he offered to have me over to his house so he could show me his "entertainment system"). I thought he'd have gotten the "please leave me alone" vibe from my responses. But no.

I can only assume he was trying to impress me, but it didn't work. Here is a brief transcription of part of our conversation:

Dean: So, what do you do?

Me: I just finished grad school, but I haven't found a job in my field yet so I'm working temp jobs at the moment.

Dean: Oh. I don't have to work. My family owns the Edwards Theater chain, and I'm independently wealthy.

Me: I officially detest you.

As if this weren't enough, mere moments later, I saw Dean get up. I assumed he was going to go talk to the bride and groom, but to my horror, he sat down in the empty chair next to me and very earnestly asked me out a third time.

Dean: Listen, I'm about to leave, but I'd really love to take you to a movie sometime.

Me: Thanks a lot, but my life is a little crazy right now, and I don't have a lot of free time.

Dean: (Condescending tone) You're life is crazy? What, with your temp job?

Me: (cocking my head in Attitude Stance #1) Not JUST the temp jobs. As I already mentioned, I'm looking for a job and going on interviews, and I'm also looking to move, so now's not a great time for me.

Dean: Oh, well-

Me: (cutting him off) I really appreciate the offer, but I'm going to decline.

Dean: (Inflated silence accompanied by a defeated glance) Well, (stands up) it was really nice to meet you (shakes my hand). Maybe I'll see you some other time.

Me: Maybe.

What is it with men? They often profess to wanting girls to be straight with them... say "yes" if we want to go out with them, and "no" if we don't. When they receive a "no", however, they don't know how to react other than to assume we MEANT "yes" and give us another chance to agree with them. I'm sure not ALL guys are like this. Perhaps it's just something in the water down here.

To top it off, my tummy wasn't happy with something I ate, and I missed shaking my groove thang to at least three songs during which my groove wanted to be shaken.


This is One Lazy Baby. - 09 May, 2007
Due Date: Yesterday - 07 May, 2007
Misery - 30 April, 2007
An Unlikely Pairing. - 18 April, 2007
And the Beat Goes on - 16 April, 2007

� design by near-sighted 2002

pregnancy week by week