home
older
about me
guestbook
host
prev | next

Selfish or Realistic?
23 June, 2002 * 12:38 pm

I just have one question: when did I start to hate children?

Seriously.

All of a sudden, I'm in the minority. Most of my friends are not only married, but are having children. When we get together now, all I ever hear about is cute little Carson's allergy to wheat and how Berea, the sweetpea that she is, refuses to wear clothes. I mean, can you imagine? They named their daughter BEREA for cripes sake! What did they expect?

I used to want to have children, and maybe I still do, eventually. But I don't know that I'd be any good at motherhood... I'm too selfish.

I am.

I really LOVE my independence. I like not having to plan my day around anyone else, let alone around poopy diapers and spit up. When confronted with children in public places, I used to be the one who would smile and coo and try to engage the little tyke in some form of communication, but somewhere along the line I became the woman who secretly hopes the kid will have a temper tantrum so I can laugh and inwardly ridicule the obvious ineptness of the parents.

Is that selfish or simply realistic?


This is One Lazy Baby. - 09 May, 2007
Due Date: Yesterday - 07 May, 2007
Misery - 30 April, 2007
An Unlikely Pairing. - 18 April, 2007
And the Beat Goes on - 16 April, 2007

� design by near-sighted 2002

pregnancy week by week